Media monitoring tools for media monitoring and social media

Media monitoring tools for media monitoring and social media

If you want to observe the web and the social web, you don't have to do everything by hand. He has an army of willing helpers at his disposal, the so-called media monitoring tools.

They are, if you will, the minions of social media management. And what a bunch is waiting: overviews from the Fraunhofer Institute, Goldbach Interactive, Medienbewachen and SOMEMO, for example, list more than 300 media monitoring tools for media monitoring and PR management. And this by no means covers everyone - also because new children are born into the monitoring universe every day. We want that Optimize monitoring service and keep track. We have therefore examined a large number of these offers from a professional point of view. We present the best tools in a five-part series.

The individual tools have different characters depending on their purpose. In order to be able to compare them with one another, a categorization is recommended first. We have identified five areas of application for which the respective media monitoring tools are best suited:

Media Monitoring Tools1. Media monitoring tools

2. Social media monitoring and engagement

3. Social media analytics (e.g. profile tracking)

4. (Classic) media monitoring (incl. Print and social web)

5. Content automation and web monitoring

Here we will present the five best monitoring tools in each of the five categories.

And the love of money

Then there is another important sorting variable of the tools: the price. This is especially important for small businesses. First of all, of course, the free (versions of) tools catch the eye: Alertio, Board reader, Feedly, Icerocket , Socialmention, Social searcher, Topsy and Twingly  offer quite good source coverage for online news as well as social media channels and networks for online media monitoring and social media monitoring. And they also deliver - not entirely unimportant for monitoring - almost real-time results. For free that's really quite good.

Media monitoring is more than “press any key”

One thing, however, in all clarity: Neither free nor paid tools provide completely satisfactory, professional monitoring at the push of a button. Only a clever combination of fee-based and free tools as well as some craft and brainpower leads to the goal. The user of the tool must always know the underlying metrics, how the tool works and what results it delivers.

Media Monitoring Tools

And then people still have to interpret the data obtained. On the other hand, the seekers also need to know what they are looking for: So what are the monitoring goals and questions that should be answered? The best “pairing” can then be made from the combination of the question and the tool functionality / properties. This also means that the tool delivers the appropriate, integrable key figures. We recommend the following procedure for a successful monitoring strategy.

The second look is important

By the way, when choosing the tool you don't have to deal with “try and error” as well as the scant information on the web. Many tool providers have support that goes beyond the knowledge of sales and enables a look behind the scenes of the tool. We have incorporated this into our tool analyzes.

But there is one more moment to consider when choosing media monitoring tools

Not every provider is ready or has the means to fulfill special requests. While the support of the evaluated tool providers rarely left much to be desired, only a few were able to offer a completely suitable solution for individual and specific questions about the implementation of examination models. An aspect that plays a particularly important role in the design and planning of studies.

The main focus here is the manual feed-in of sources, crawler performance, cost calculation for additional services, adaptation of features or integration options (APIs). In the post "Top media monitoring tools for media monitoring and social media”We deal with category 1 tools: media monitoring tools. Below that we organize tools that are suitable for both classic media monitoring and social media monitoring. In addition, they can also support social media analytics and engagement.

Many thanks to Dr. Martin Reti (Divia GmbH), who as Proofreader has acted.

1 Comment

Post a Comment

Comment
Name
Email
Website

en_GB

Media Monitoring Tools für Medienbeobachtung und Social Media

Wer das Web und das Social Web beobachten will, der muss nicht alles von Hand machen. Ihm steht ein Heer williger Helferlein zur Verfügung, die so genannten Media Monitoring Tools.

Sie sind, wenn man so will, die Minions des Social Media Management. Und welch ein Haufen da wartet: Übersichten vom Fraunhofer Institut, Goldbach Interactive, Medienbewachen und SOMEMO verzeichnen beispielsweise mehr als 300 Media Monitoring Tools für Medienüberwachung und PR-Management. Und damit sind längst nicht alle erfasst – auch weil täglich neue Kinder in das Monitoring-Universum hinein geboren werden. Wir möchten das Monitoring-Service optimieren und den Überblick behalten. Daher haben wir einen Großteil dieser Angebote aus professioneller Sicht unter die Lupe genommen. Die besten Tools stellen wir in einer fünfteiligen Serie vor.

Die einzelnen Tools haben je nach Einsatzzweck unterschiedlichen Charakter. Um sie miteinander vergleichen zu können, empfiehlt sich zunächst eine Kategorisierung. Wir haben fünf Anwendungsbereiche identifiziert, wofür die jeweiligen Media Monitoring Tools am besten geeignet sind:

Media Monitoring Tools1. Media Monitoring Tools

2. Social Media Monitoring und Engagement

3. Social Media Analytics (z. B.: Profil-Tracking)

4. (Klassische) Medienbeobachtung (Inkl. Print und Social Web)

5. Content-Automatisierung und Webmonitoring

Hier werden wir die jeweils fünf besten Monitoring-Tools in den fünf Kategorien vorstellen.

Und das liebe Geld

Dann gibt es noch eine weitere wichtige Sortiergröße der Tools: den Preis. Der spielt vor allem für kleine Unternehmen eine Rolle. Zuerst fallen da natürlich die kostenlosen (Versionen der) Tools ins Auge: Alertio, Boardreader, Feedly, Icerocket , Socialmention, Social Searcher, Topsy und Twingly  bieten für Online-Medienbeobachtung und Social Media Monitoring eine recht gute Quellenabdeckung von Online-Nachrichten sowie Social-Media-Kanälen und Netzwerken. Und zudem liefern sie – für das Monitoring nicht ganz unwichtig – fast Echtzeit-Ergebnisse. Für umsonst ist das wirklich ganz gut.

Media Monitoring ist mehr als „press any key“

Eines aber gleich in aller Klarheit: Weder kostenlose noch kostenpflichtige Tools liefern auf Knopfdruck ein komplett zufriedenstellendes, professionelles Monitoring. Erst eine geschickte Kombination aus kostenpflichtigen und kostenfreien Tools sowie einigem Handwerk und Hirnschmalz führt ins Ziel. Der Nutzer des Tools muss also immer die zugrunde liegenden Metriken kennen, wissen, wie das Tool arbeitet und welche Ergebnisse es liefert.

Media Monitoring  Tools

Und dann müssen Menschen die gewonnenen Daten noch interpretieren. Auf der anderen Seite müssen die Suchenden aber auch wissen, wonach sie suchen: Was also sind die Monitoringziele und Fragestellungen, die beantwortet werden sollen? Aus der Kombination von Fragestellung und Toolfunktionalität/-eigenschaften kann dann die beste “Paarung” erfolgen. Dazu gehört auch, dass das Tool die passenden, integrierbaren Kennzahlen liefert. Für eine erfolgreiche Monitoringstrategie empfehlen wir folgendes Vorgehen.

Der zweite Blick ist wichtig

Bei der Auswahl des Tools muss man sich übrigens keineswegs mit “try und error” sowie den spärlichen Informationen im Web zufrieden geben. Viele Toolanbieter haben einen Support, der über das Wissen des Vertriebs hinaus einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des Tools ermöglicht. Das haben wir in unsere Toolanalysen einfließen lassen.

Doch ist bei der Auswahl von Media Monitoring Tools noch ein weiteres Moment wichtig

Nicht jeder Anbieter ist bereit oder verfügt über die Mittel, spezielle Wünsche zu erfüllen. Während der Support der evaluierten Tool-Anbieter nur selten zu wünschen übrig ließ, konnten nur wenige eine völlig passende Lösung für individuelle und spezifische Fragen zur Implementierung von Untersuchungsmodellen anbieten. Ein Aspekt, der insbesondere bei Design und Planung von Studien eine wichtige Rolle spielt.

Hierbei geht es vor allem um die manuelle Einspeisung von Quellen, Crawler-Leistung, Kosten-Kalkulation für Zusatz-Leistungen, Anpassung von Features oder Integrationsmöglichkeiten (APIs). Im Beitrag “Top Media Monitoring Tools für Medienbeobachtung und Social Media” behandeln wir Tools der Kategorie 1: Media Monitoring Tools. Darunter ordnen wir Tools, die sowohl für klassische Medienbeobachtung als auch für Social Media Monitoring geeignet sind. Darüber hinaus können sie auch das Social Media Analytics und Engagement unterstützen.

Vielen Dank an Herr Dr. Martin Reti (Divia GmbH), der als Proofreader fungiert hat.

One thought on “Media Monitoring Tools für Medienbeobachtung und Social Media

Schreib einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *